Archive for the ‘New England Blackwolves’ Category

Teams taking care of their houses before free agency starts.

The Buffalo Bandits have signed Matt Vinc to a three year agreement.

The Colorado Mammoth have signed Ryan Lee to a two year agreement.

The Halifax Thunderbirds have signed Warren Hill to a two year agreement.

The New England Black Wolves have released Chad Culp and Brett Bucktooth from the Retired List.

The New York Riptide have signed Tyler Digby to a two agreement.

The Philadelphia Wings have signed Eric Shewell and Liam Byrnes to one year agreements.

The San Diego Seals have signed Tor Reinholdt to a two year agreement.

The Toronto Rock have provided qualifying offers to Sheldon Burns and Johnny Powless.


We got some player signings before free agency starts August 1st.


Bandits sign Just Martin and Bryce Sweeting.Β  Both to two year contracts.

The New York Riptide has signed Dan MacRae to a two year agreement.

New Black Wolves sign Brett Manney to a one year contract.


Its award season in the National Lacrosse League (Yawn). Did they forget the Western the division? πŸ™‚

Executive of the Year – Terri Gibberson Toronto Rock

General Manager of the Year – Steve ” Chugger ” DietrichΒ  Buffalo Bandits

Head Coach of the Year – John Tavares and Rich Kilgour Buffalo Bandits

Goaltender of te Year – Matt Vinc Buffalo Bandits.

Most Valuable Player – Dane Dobbie

Defensive Player of the Year – Graeme HossackΒ  Halifax Thunderbirds

Rookie of the Year – Austin Staats San Diego Seals

Teammate of the Year – John Ranagan – Georgia Swarm – Currently with the New York Riptide.

Transition Player of the Year – Challen RogersΒ  Toronto Rock

Sportsmanship Award – Lyle Thompson Georgia Swarm ( Did they snip the ponytail? πŸ™‚

Media Person of the Year – Tyson Geick


First Team All-Pro

Dane Dobbie – Calgary Roughnecks – Forward

Lyle Thompson – Georgia Swarm – Forward

Challen Rogers – Toronto Rock – Transition

Graeme Hossack – Rochester Knighthawks – Defense

Kyle Rubsich – Saskatchewan Rush – Defense

Matt Vinc – Buffalo Bandits – Goaltender


Second Team All-Pro

Eli McLaughlin – Colorado Mammoth – Forward

Callum Crawford – New England Black Wolves – Forward

Zach Currier – Calgary Roughnecks – Transition

Steve Priolo – Buffalo Bandits – Defense

Brodie Merrill – San Diego Seals – Defense

Christian Del Bianco – Calgary Roughnecks – Goaltender


All-Rookie Team

Austin Staats – San Diego Seals – Forward

Ian MacKay – Buffalo Bandits – Transition

Matt Rambo – Philadelphia Wings – Forward

Kyle Killen – Colorado Mammoth – Forward

Trevor Baptiste – Philadelphia Wings – Transition

Brendan Bomberry – Georgia Swarm – Transition


Saturday morning and the New England Black Wolves have made a couple moves. Colton Watkinson, Nick Chaykowsky and Mackenzie MitchellΒ  have signed two year contracts with the Black Wolves. You can read the press release Here

We also have a trade to report. The Black Wolves send a 2021 second round pick to the Georgia Swarm for Joel Tinney.Β  Tinney played in five games last season scoring one goal and adding four assists and grabbing 20 loose balls.Β  Tinney’s career stats can be found Here

Teams will submit a list of 11 players they wish to protect ahead of the Expansion Draft.

Per the CBA, a maximum of five forwards and one goaltender can be put on a team’s protected player list.

Well the league has published the protected players lists. Some interesting names available to Rochester and New York.

Curious move by Philadelphia not protecting a goaltender.Β  Let the bitching by Philly faithful begin.

Anyway let the backroom deals begin in earnest. Check out the lists below.



Press Release

Press Release

The deal is for two years

Press ReleaseΒ 

The nominees for each award are:

Rookie of the Year

  • Ian MacKay – Buffalo Bandits
  • Matt Rambo – Philadelphia Wings
  • Austin Staats – San Diego Seals

Defensive Player of the Year

  • Graeme Hossack – Rochester Knighthawks
  • Steve Priolo – Buffalo Bandits
  • Kyle Rubisch – Saskatchewan Rush

Transition Player of the Year

  • Zach Currier – Calgary Roughnecks
  • Kiel Matisz – Philadelphia Wings
  • Challen Rogers – Toronto Rock

Goaltender of the Year

  • Christian Del Bianco – Calgary Roughnecks
  • Matt Vinc – Buffalo Bandits
  • Dillon Ward – Colorado Mammoth

Most Valuable Player

  • Dane Dobbie – Calgary Roughnecks
  • Lyle Thompson – Georgia Swarm
  • Matt Vinc – Buffalo Bandits

Sportsmanship Award

  • Dan Dawson – San Diego Seals
  • Tom Schreiber – Toronto Rock
  • Lyle Thompson – Georgia Swarm

Teammate of the Year

  • Kyle Buchanan – San Diego Seals
  • Chad Cummings – Calgary Roughnecks
  • John Ranagan – Georgia Swarm

Les Bartley Award, Head Coach of the Year

  • Curt Malawsky – Calgary Roughnecks
  • Matt Sawyer – Toronto Rock
  • John Tavares/Rich Kilgour – Buffalo Bandits

General Manager of the Year

  • Mike Board – Calgary Roughnecks
  • Steve Dietrich – Buffalo Bandits
  • Patrick Merrill – San Diego Seals

Executive of the Year

  • Terri Giberson – Toronto Rock
  • Lindsey Masciangelo – Philadelphia Wings
  • Dave Zygai – Buffalo Bandits

This just goes to show how little media coverage the NLL gets.Β 

Tom Borelli Award, Media Person of the Year

  • Bob Chavez – IL Indoor ( Enjoyed his work at the D and C. Now not so much. )
  • Tyson Geick – Lacrosse Flash ( Former league employee and still has his head up his ass. )
  • Barstool Jordie – Barstool Sports ( Barstool has more negatives than positives that we can think of. Just ask IB.Β  Jordie is an asshole to boot.

Box Score

Attendance 11,776

The Bandits got off to a fast start jumping out to a 3-0 and the hole was too deep for the offensively challenged Black Wolves to dig out of.Β  Dhane Smith led the Bandits with two goals and five assists.Β  Matt Vinc made 47 saves to help the Bandits advance to the East Division Finals.

Buffalo will host the winner of the Toronto – Georgia.



Friday May 3 Colorado at Saskatchewan 9:30 PM ET

Saturday May 4 New England at BuffaloΒ  7:30 PM ET

Monday May 6 Toronto at Georgia 7:30 PM ET

Monday May 6 Calgary at San Diego 10:30 PM ET